Skip to content

The Committee of Ministers is composed of the ministers for foreign affairs of the 46 member States of the Council of Europe or their permanent representatives in Strasbourg. It supervises the execution of the judgments of the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), and is supported by the Department for the Execution of Judgments in this role. The Council not only ensures that the damages awarded by the court are paid, but also assists the state in question in identifying and implementing measures necessary to address underlying systemic or structural problems identified by the ECtHR.